In anticipation of spring


herbs

Originally uploaded by my spare time

These are some herbs that I planted last summer. Rosemary, thyme and mint if I recall correctly. I’ve been craving the lovely bright flavours of fresh herbs. I can’t wait until spring has sprung!

In anticipation of spring I have my stack of gardening books out and piled on our dining room table. This morning I was flipping through them as I ate my breakfast and avoided looking out the window in hopes of being able to delude myself into believing that spring really is just around the corner. Really it is! In spite of the piles and piles of snow in our yard. Sigh.

I have attempted a vegetable garden the last two summers. The results have been less than wonderful. We live in an older neighborhood with lots of very large, established trees. I love the trees, but they’re not very good for letting in sunlight. I think this year I’ll try to find some plants that are shade tolerant. Or perhaps container gardening is the route to go. Perhaps I can chase the sun with the containers? The front yard is much brighter. Perhaps I’ll plant some veggies among some flowers in the front?

In spite of my lack of success, I really do enjoy playing in the dirt. I guess it’s more of a labour of love than anything else. Eventually I’ll learn what works and what doesn’t through trial and error. If anyone has any helpful suggestions feel free to send them my way!

Published in: on March 3, 2008 at 1:35 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mysparetime.wordpress.com/2008/03/03/in-anticipation-of-spring/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your herb pot looks promising! Growing veg in containers is often less intimidating, as it seems easier to care for a pot. If you can place them on wheels or a trolley, they are easy to move and you can chase the sun! Good luck

    TopVeg

  2. Hi TopVeg,

    Thank you for your helpful suggestion and words of encouragement! I think I will end up with more veggies in containers this summer, although I’m also looking at some shade tolerant veggies. I spent so much time digging up our veggie patch it would be a shame for all that hard work to go to waste 🙂


Leave a Reply

