Review: The Abstinence Teacher by Tom Perrotta

The Abstinence Teacher has a chick lit feel to it and is a very easy  read. I tore through it in a couple of days. I really related to Ruth Ramsey and thought she was a very likable character.

I was intrigued by the play between left wing and right wing attitudes toward teaching children about sexuality and health. I wasn’t quite sure which stance was being taken. I was curious to see what the moral of the story was. I’ll let you read to find out rather than spoil the suspense.

I did wonder if it was fair to portray the right wing religious characters as, for the most part, being driven to religion by weakness or tragedy. There must be people who believe in an organized approach to religion simply because they believe it’s right? Not because they need a crutch? I think the approach taken by Tom Perrotta makes a complex topic much simpler than the reality.

I found the ending deeply unsatisfying. I actually started cursing after I finished the last page.

Published in: on February 24, 2008 at 1:42 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mysparetime.wordpress.com/2008/02/24/review-the-abstinence-teacher-by-tom-perrotta/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

