Sweater Sadness




blair’s sweater

Originally uploaded by my spare time

Yesterday I was determined to get things done! I was optimistic that I would finish at least one project. So I picked up Blair’s sweater and picked up the stitches for the neckband. I worked about an inch of knit 1 purl 1 ribbing on size 5 needles. I bound off. I got Blair to try it on. And it was crooked! So sad.

This is the first time I’ve knit a V neck sweater, so I guess it was a bit too optimistic to think all would go well. I just hope the crookedness is because of the number of stitches I picked up, rather than wonkiness with the neckline or raglan shaping. I really don’t want to rip the entire yoke.

Did I mention I started this sweater about two years ago? I think if I was to rip it and start over again, I would approach this sweater in an entirely different manner. I think I’d knit it from the top down so that Blair could try it on every few inches or so (which I’m sure he’d love). And I’d probably knit it with a crew neck. With maybe some patterning on the yoke. Maybe garter stitch. Hmmm, maybe ripping it and starting over isn’t such a bad idea.

Published in: on December 10, 2007 at 1:21 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mysparetime.wordpress.com/2007/12/10/sweater-sadness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. i agree that it was optimistic about the v neck, as it is a tricky thing. i recall this from sewing, it can also happen. i hope it works out!

  2. Thanks for the words of encouragement 🙂


Leave a Reply

