Warm and Cozy Top Down Cardigan


Warm and Cozy TDC1

Originally uploaded by my spare time

Winter has arrived in full force. It seems a bit early to be this cold. Fortunately I’m well on my way to completing a warm and cozy sweater for myself. I’m knitting Cosmicpluto‘s Top Down Raglan Cardi. I’ve knit a version of this sweater before, joining it after the yoke to make a pullover. It’s a nicely written pattern that’s easy to adapt to suit your needs. I love knitting sweaters from the top down. It’s so much fun to try the sweater on as you go, checking to see if it’ll fit.

This time I’ve used seed stitch on the collar, cuffs and waist band.

I was a bit impatient so I finished the body sooner than I’d originally planned. I’d imagined a longer sweater with very long sleeves that I could tuck my constantly cold hands into. I’m hoping that blocking will add another inch in length to the body.

I’m planning on putting some sort of a closure on it, but not entirely sure what. Perhaps Elizabeth Zimmermann’s looped I-cord button closure. I have a large brown shell button that I think would be ideal.

Published in: on December 8, 2007 at 1:38 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mysparetime.wordpress.com/2007/12/08/warm-and-cozy-top-down-cardigan/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This sweater looks gorgeous…and cozy. I love the colours.

  2. what yarn is that? looks great!

  3. Mystery yarn. I can’t find the label, but I think it’s some sort of Patons. I’m going to organize my yarn over the holidays, so if I find a stray label, I’ll post and let you know.


Leave a Reply

