classic mittens

classic mittens

Originally uploaded by my spare time

I actually finished a project in about a week. I really needed the mittens, as it’s getting a wee bit nippy outside. In spite of the project being driven by necessity, I really enjoyed knitting them. Mittens are a nice portable project, which allowed for a lot of bus knitting. The classic mittens pattern was a pleasure to knit. I used Cascade 220 yarn in a nice tweedy purple and size 6 dpn. My photo is a bit overexposed, so the actual colour is much deeper.

The yarn was the result of a bit of an adventure. Blair and I went on a road trip to Ottawa this past summer to visit his sister. On the way back through the States we got lost due to a detour. Well, we stopped to look at our map and when I looked out the window we were right out side a yarn store! Yay! Stashing opportunity! The owner was quite pleasant. Uncommon Threads in Marguette, MI. The store was packed with lovely yarn, but I restrained myself to purchasing just two skeins of Cascade 220. The rest will be used for a matching hat or cowl. Not sure which yet.

Published in: on November 20, 2007 at 6:48 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mysparetime.wordpress.com/2007/11/20/classic-mittens/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Love the mittens! I think that will be my next project since I have this alpaca wool sitting around still. It’s so nice, but I haven’t figured out what to make with it yet.


Leave a Reply

